Community Danger Fire Rating.

Fire Danger Ratings tell you how dangerous a fire could be if one started.

They are important because they help you decide what actions to take to protect yourself and others from bushfires and grassfires.

A new Fire Danger Rating system was introduced in 2022 across Australia so whether you’re at home or travelling, you will see the same rating system. 

There are four levels of fire danger in the new system:

  • Moderate – Plan and prepare
  • High – Be ready to act
  • Extreme – Take action now to protect your life and property
  • Catastrophic – For your survival, leave bushfire risk areas

Fire Danger Ratings will be issued on days when there is a fire risk.

Each fire danger rating will have a clear set of messages including the actions the community can take to reduce their risk.

Ratings are forecast using Bureau of Meteorology data for up to four days in advance, based on weather and other environmental conditions such as vegetation.

The rating is your trigger to take action to stay safe

Skip to content